Crime figures

Présentation des statistiques policières 2021

Exceptionally, due to current circumstances regarding Covid-19, the crime trend statistics for 2019 were not presented to the press in spring at a press conference, but will be set out in this report.

This communication aims to report on the general trends that were observed in 2019, providing an explanation of the meaning and interpretation of these data. An initial communication focuses on the general figures and offences against property and persons. A second communication covering drug-related crimes and burglaries will follow in the next few days.

Caveats and guidance on the interpretation of the data

While these figures reflect the work of the Police, there are a few caveats: firstly, a single event may represent several offences; secondly, an event may be re-categorised by the Public Prosecutor as a result of the ensuing investigation. Cases may also be dismissed by the judicial authorities and so result in acquittals. The data contained in the police statistics therefore only provide basic information. The number of events is made up of offences that have been identified by police officers, as well as those reported by members of the public. Aside from this information, there are bound to be some "grey figures" for the different categories of offence as, logically, these statistics include only offences that the Police are aware of.

It should also be emphasised that police statistics are primarily there to assist the work of the Police units who, after analysing these statistics, can gradually adapt their working methods over the year and react to the changing trends in terms of their investigation, prevention and enforcement methods.

General trends

Overall, there was a slight upward trend in crime of 4% between 2018 and 2019, to around 38,800 offences recorded by the Police in 2019 - a figure which, despite the growth in population, is still below the figure of 40,000 offences recorded in 2015. This general drop over the last few years can be seen, in particular, if we compare this figure with the number of inhabitants in order to establish the rate of criminality per 100,000 persons, as shown in the graphs below.

 

Crime against property typically represents the majority of offences. Compared with 2018, the number of offences reported to the Police in this category fell by 3%. However, crime against persons reported to the Police increased by 8.9%.

Crime against property

Theft with violence has been fairly stable since 2016 and remains at a significantly lower level than in 2015. No armed robberies on banks or cash-in-transit companies have been recorded for several years. In 2019, 8 armed robberies on other businesses and establishments (bookshops, food shops/supermarkets, jewellers, etc.) were recorded.

For theft involving vehicles, the overall figures fell between 2018 and 2019. This category mainly includes theft of items from inside a vehicle. Other types of theft, including for example shoplifting and pickpocketing, fell by 3.6% over the same period.

Crime against persons

In the case of crime against persons, however, there was an increase of 7.4% in cases of assault and wounding with intent between 2018 and 2019.

An increase in cases of domestic violence reported to the Police was also observed between 2018 and 2019.

The term "Miscellaneous offences" covers various categories, including drug-related offences in particular.

The police clear-up rate is at its highest level for the past five years, up more than 8% since 2015. A case is considered to have been cleared up if it has been possible to identify the alleged perpetrator ("person likely to have participated in an offence"). There is a presumption of innocence until proved guilty.

Burglary

Under the heading of burglary, the police statistics define two types of location: burglaries in residential premises (houses, apartments, basements) and burglaries in non-residential premises (shops, businesses, restaurants, site huts, etc.).

The majority of burglaries involve residential premises. A positive trend can be seen in this category, with a reduction of over 7% between 2018 and 2019. Burglaries in non-residential premises rose slightly by 1.59% during the same period following a sharp drop in the previous period.

Generally, burglaries in residential premises mainly occur in urban areas, close to major roads and close to borders. In terms of timing, most burglaries take place on Fridays and Saturdays and in the early evening. During the year, burglaries are traditionally more frequent at the start of summer or in the winter months, due to early nightfall. The Police are therefore particularly active in fighting burglary during these times. In 2019, there was no clear peak at the start of the summer, unlike in other years.

All these figures do, of course, refer almost exclusively to "traditional" burglaries, in which the perpetrators enter via a door, window, across a balcony, etc. without occupants being the target. The number of cases of "homejacking" (theft with violence or threats in residential premises) is very low compared with total burglaries: In 2019, there were 5 homejackings in residential premises.

Fighting burglary is one of the main priorities of the Police. A daily analysis of the most recent trends provides the basis for the adoption of prevention and enforcement measures.

These preventive and proactive efforts include, for example, targeted patrols and increased police presence at key times and in key locations, also public information sessions, information via Police communication platforms or personalised advice provided by officers from the National crime prevention service. Reactive and enforcement efforts include the search for perpetrators, door-to-door enquiries, identification of traces by crime scene investigators, investigations by the Criminal investigation department or the deployment of plain-clothes or uniformed resources.

An important point to remember is that burglars do not usually seek confrontation with the occupant and leave once they realise they have been spotted. However, if an occupant becomes aware that they are being burgled, they are advised not to directly confront the burglar. They should immediately alert the Police using the emergency phone number 113 and indicate that they are aware of the burglar's presence, for example by making a noise, shouting or switching on the light.

The fight against drugs

The fight against drugs is another main priority in Police work and they were particularly active in this field in 2019. In fact, the trend shows a significant increase in cases between 2018 and 2019. This particularly refers to the number of cases of possession, up 35%, and drug use, up 51%. There was a 21% rise in drug trafficking. The number of drug seizures, in cooperation with the Customs and Excise Agency, rose to 1,412 in 2019, while the number of arrests fell slightly.

From prevention via a presence on the ground to criminal investigations, all Police units are committed to and actively engaged in the fight against drugs, whether through preventive patrols, information-gathering or via wide-ranging checks.

And the Police are not the only agency working on this. The Police service works in close cooperation with the judicial authorities and the Customs and Excise Agency. Together, they have seized over 359,000 grams of cannabis, 6,400 grams of heroin, 1,747 grams of cocaine 50,997 ecstasy tabs and 57 grams of amphetamines.

Whether concerning the general fight against crime or the fight against specific criminal activities, on our website we offer comprehensive information and advice on prevention, as well as assistance for victims. We generally advise members of the public to report immediately to the Police any suspicious persons or events they have witnessed, so that checks can be made and the necessary action taken.

Last update

Chiffres de la délinquance

En raison des circonstances actuelles liées au Covid-19, les statistiques sur l’évolution de la criminalité en 2019 n’ont, à titre exceptionnel, pas été présentées à la presse en printemps par le biais d’une conférence de presse, mais seront explicitées dans le présent communiqué.

Cette communication vise à relever les tendances générales qui se sont manifestées en 2019, tout en fournissant des explications quant à la signification et à l’interprétation de ces données. Une première communication se concentre sur les chiffres globaux et les infractions contre les biens et les personnes. Un second communiqué portant sur la lutte contre les stupéfiants et les cambriolages respectivement suivra dans les jours à venir.

Mises en garde et précisions quant à l’interprétation des données

Bien que ces chiffres reflètent le travail de la Police, quelques mises en garde sont de rigueur: d’une part, un seul fait peut représenter plusieurs infractions. D’autre part, un fait peut être (re-)qualifié différemment par le Parquet comme résultat de l’enquête qui s’en suit. Il se peut également que des affaires soient classées sans suites par les autorités judiciaires respectivement résultent dans un acquittement. Les informations reprises dans les statistiques policières ne sont donc que des données de base. Le nombre de faits se compose des infractions que les agents ont auto-constatées ainsi que des plaintes portées par les citoyens. Au-delà de ces informations, il est certain qu’il existe des chiffres gris pour les différentes catégories d’infractions : en effet, logiquement, ces statistiques ne prennent en compte que les infractions dont la Police a connaissance.

Il convient de souligner également que les statistiques policières servent avant tout comme outil de travail aux unités de Police qui, suite à l’analyse, peuvent au fur et à mesure de l’année adapter leurs modes opératoires et réagir en fonction de l’évolution des différents phénomènes en termes des méthodes d’enquête, de prévention et de répression.

Tendances générales

Globalement, l’évolution de la délinquance a connu une légère hausse de 4% de 2018 à 2019, pour en arriver à environ 38.800 infractions enregistrées par la Police en 2019 - un chiffre qui reste, malgré la croissance de la population, en-dessous des plus de 40.000 infractions recensées en 2015. En effet, c’est notamment en rapprochant cette donnée au nombre d’habitants pour établir le taux de criminalité sur 100.000 personnes que cette baisse générale pendant les dernières années devient évidente, comme le montrent les graphiques ci-dessous.

 

Les infractions contre les biens représentent communément la plus grande partie des infractions. Par rapport à l’an 2018, le nombre d’infractions rapportées à la Police dans cette catégorie a diminué de 3%. Les infractions contre les personnes rapportées à la Police ont, quant à elles, augmenté de 8,9%.

Infractions contre les biens

Les vols avec violences sont assez stables depuis 2016 et se maintiennent à un niveau significativement plus bas qu’en 2015 encore. Depuis plusieurs années, aucun vol à main armée accompli n’a été enregistré contre des instituts bancaires ou des transporteurs de fonds. Pour l’année 2019, huit vols à main armée sur d’autres commerces et établissements (librairies, magasins d’alimentation/self-service, bijouteries, ...) ont été enregistrés.

En ce qui concerne les vols liés aux véhicules, les chiffres globaux ont baissé de 2018 à 2019. Cette catégorie comprend pour la plus grande partie les vols à l’intérieur d’un véhicule. Les autres types de vols, dans lesquels on retrouve par exemple le vol à l’étalage ou le vol à la tire, ont diminué de 3,6% sur la même période.

Infractions contre les personnes

Parmi les infractions contre les personnes, force est de constater une augmentation de 7,4% dans la catégorie des coups et blessures volontaires de 2018 à 2019.

C’est également au niveau de la violence domestique qu’une hausse des cas rapportés à la Police peut être observée de 2018 à 2019.

Le groupe d’infractions « Divers » regroupe différentes catégories, parmi lesquelles on retrouve surtout les infractions liées aux stupéfiants.

Le taux policier d’élucidation quant à lui est à son niveau le plus élevé depuis cinq ans, avec une augmentation de plus de 8% depuis 2015. Une affaire est considérée « élucidée » lorsque l’auteur présumé (« personne étant susceptible d’avoir participé à une infraction ») a pu être identifié. À savoir que la présomption d’innocence persiste jusqu’à une éventuelle condamnation.

Cambriolages

Dans le domaine des cambriolages, les informations policières distinguent entre deux types de localités concernées : les cambriolages dans les maisons habitées (maisons, appartements, caves) et les cambriolages dans les maisons non-habitées (magasins, entreprises, restaurants, baraques de chantier, …).

La grande majorité des cambriolages concerne des maisons habitées. Dans ce domaine, une tendance positive peut être constatée, avec une baisse de plus de 7% de 2018 à 2019. Les cambriolages dans les maisons inhabitées ont connu une légère hausse de 1,59% sur la même période après une nette baisse dans la période antérieure.

Généralement, les cambriolages dans les maisons habitées ont plutôt lieu en milieu urbain, à proximité des grands axes routiers et à proximité des frontières. En ce qui concerne l'analyse temporelle, les cambriolages ont le plus souvent lieu les vendredis et samedis et en début de soirée. Sur l'année, le début de l'été ainsi que les mois d'hiver, qui sont particulièrement propices en raison de la tombée anticipée de la nuit, sont traditionnellement les mois les plus affectés. Par conséquent, la Police est aussi particulièrement active dans la lutte anti-cambriolages à ces moments. En 2019, il n'y a pas eu de pic prononcé en début de l'été, contrairement à d'autres années.

Tous ces chiffres concernent, bien entendu, quasi exclusivement des cambriolages " classiques " lors desquels les auteurs sont entrés par une porte, une fenêtre, à travers un balcon… sans que des habitants n'aient été visés. Le nombre de cas de Homejackings (vols avec violences ou menaces dans des maisons habitées) est très peu élevé en comparaison au total des cambriolages : En 2019, il y avait 5 Homejackings dans des maisons habitées.

La lutte contre les cambriolages fait partie des priorités pour la Police. C'est sur base de l'analyse quotidienne des plus récentes évolutions que des mesures préventives et répressives sont mises en place.

Parmi les efforts préventifs et proactifs comptent par exemple des patrouilles ciblées et une présence policière renforcée aux moments et endroits clés, mais aussi des séances d'information de la population, l'information par le biais des plateformes de communication de la Police ou bien encore le conseil personnalisé presté par les agents du Service national de prévention de la criminalité. Les efforts réactifs et répressifs comprennent entre autres la recherche des auteurs, les enquêtes de voisinage, la saisie des traces par la police technique, les enquêtes effectuées par le service de police judiciaire ou encore l'organisation de dispositifs banalisés ou en uniforme.

Il importe de savoir qu'en principe, un cambrioleur ne cherche pas la confrontation avec l'habitant et fuit lorsqu'il remarque que celui-ci l'a aperçu. Néanmoins, si l'habitant constate qu'un cambriolage est en cours, il est déconseillé d'affronter le cambrioleur de manière directe. Alertez plutôt immédiatement la Police à travers le numéro d'appel d'urgence 113 et signalez au cambrioleur qu'il n'est pas passé inaperçu, par exemple en faisant du bruit, en criant ou en allumant l'éclairage.

La lutte contre les stupéfiants

La lutte contre les stupéfiants constitue une autre grande priorité du travail de la Police et celle-ci a été particulièrement active dans ce domaine en 2019. En effet, l'évolution des affaires a connu une hausse significative de 2018 à 2019. Ceci notamment en ce qui concerne la détention avec une augmentation de 35% et l'usage avec une hausse de 51%. Une hausse de 21 % a été constatée pour le trafic. Le nombre de saisies, en coopération avec l'Administration des Douanes et Accises, s'élève à 1.412 pour 2019, tandis que les arrestations sont légèrement en recul.

De la prévention à travers la présence sur le terrain jusqu'à l'enquête judiciaire, toutes les unités de la police sont engagées et concernées par la lutte contre les stupéfiants, que ce soit dans le contexte de patrouilles préventives, de la recherche de renseignements ou encore lors de contrôles d'envergure.

Or, la Police n'est pas le seul acteur engagé dans ce contexte. Elle travaille en étroite coopération avec les autorités judiciaires et l'Administration des Douanes et Accises précitée. Ensemble, plus de 359.000 grammes de cannabis, 6.400 grammes d'héroïne, 1.747 grammes de cocaïne, 50.997 pilules d'ecstasy et 57 grammes d'amphétamines ont été saisis.

Que ce soit dans le contexte de la lutte générale contre la criminalité ou dans la lutte contre des phénomènes criminels précis, nous proposons une panoplie d'informations et de conseils préventifs, ainsi que des informations pour l'aide aux victimes sur notre site web. De manière générale, nous recommandons aux citoyens de signaler des personnes ou faits suspects dont ils auraient pu être témoins immédiatement à la Police afin que les vérifications et démarches nécessaires puissent être mises en place.

Dernière mise à jour